THE ETENGO SYMPOSIUM

THE FUTURE THROUGH IT

The Etengo Symposium is a top-class series of events aimed exclusively at a select circle of Etengo customers and business partners.

It focuses on the challenges and trends in information technology. Two exciting and inspiring keynote speeches are followed by a professionally moderated panel discussion, which also actively involves the audience. It provides participants with interesting and important food for thought and broadens their views of their areas of expertise. Together, we examine and discuss how information technology influences the economy, society and politics now and in future, and what the subsequent opportunities and challenges for you and your company will be. 

The topic of the last
event

BIG DATA VS PRIVACY -

SQUARING THE CIRCLE?

THE TOPIC OF THE LAST EVENT

BIG DATA VS PRIVACY -

DIE QUADRATUR DES KREISES?

Many disruptive business models, several new technological approaches and practically all innovative products and services are based on the collection, storage and analysis of large volumes of data with the aim to derive valuable knowledge and in turn generate added value. For this purpose, the data is generally stored permanently, frequently linked to other existing external or internal data sources, and consequently increasingly enhanced and refined with time. The data produces patterns, which in turn generate customer typologies or predictions on the likelihood of their future behaviour, for instance. Transparent customers, employees and citizens are the logical consequence of these developments.

Machine learning, artificial intelligence, the IoT, autonomous cars and Industry 4.0 are just a few of the major IT topics. However, all these approaches are essentially based on data being the hard currency of the future. In contrast, the EU General Data Protection Regulation has become considerably more stringent, while increasingly more customers and consumers are taking a critical view of habitual data collection and want to regain control of their data. This conflict of interest presents great opportunities but also considerable challenges.

Speaker

Dr. Hans Joachim PoppPrincipal BW Consulting GmbH

Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp has worked in IT since 1988. He studied electrical engineering, software ergonomics and medical engineering in Hanover, Aachen and Boston. Throughout his career, he held a wide variety of exciting positions, including as product manager at Dräger in medical IT, as CIO International of TÜV Product Service GmbH and as manager of the data centre at TÜV’s branch in Southern Germany. From 2000 to 2006, he was also a professor of Software Technology at the Academy of Media Arts (KHM) in Cologne. From 2005 until 2018, he was CIO of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR). Since May 1, 2018, he has been Principal of BwConsulting GmbH where he is in charge of all topics concerning IT management. The core issues of digitisation are clear to Hans-Joachim Popp: "Digitisation bears such an infinite potential for our economy and society that we need to urgently resolve the apparent contradiction between data protection and big data. And as a matter of fact, we can! However, to accompany this resolution, we need corresponding regulations that have already worked well in the analogue world." Popp is convinced that secure systems can only be established if the overall design process consistently considers the system as comprising man and machine.

Photo credit: German Aerospace Centre

Sascha LoboAuthor and strategy consultant

Sascha Lobo is Germany's "Internet explainer". He works as author and strategy consultant with a focus on the internet and brand communication, and he gives lectures on the digital world, ranging from social media to digital work processes. Since January 2011, he has been writing the weekly column "Mensch-Maschine" (Man-Machine) on Spiegel Online and he has received several awards for the collaborative blog Riesenmaschine.de such as the Grimme Online Award in 2006. In times of extremely efficient, powerful machines and intense discussions about big data, he has established the concept of Magical Digitalism. With this concept, he ascribes "magical abilities to machines and algorithms." Lobo is convinced: Companies often start solving "the problems they want rather than the actually existing problems, owing to ignorance. In the realm of politics, Magical Digitalism tends to solve problems that only appear to exist, which is not only dangerous but also a gateway for influences of all kinds."

Photo credit: Reto Klar

Sascha PallenbergHead of Digital Content at Daimler & tech blogger

Sascha Pallenberg, thus far known as one of the most popular German tech bloggers and as a digital entrepreneur, has been the Head of Digital Content in corporate communications at Daimler since the beginning of 2017. His blog netbooknews.de was nominated one of the best IT blogs by Computerwoche magazine in 2010. Like its current successor, MobileGeeks, the blog covered the latest developments in the mobile computing market. By the way, Pallenberg presents an example of the discussion about big data vs. data protection in an exciting self-experiment: With an RFID chip implanted in his left hand, he does not only open his apartment door in Taipei, he's also always got his business card right ‘at his fingertips’.

Dr. Dirk SiegelPartner & Leader Deloitte Blockchain Institute

Dr. Dirk Siegel is a partner at Deloitte and head of the Deloitte Blockchain Institute. After he graduated from Cambridge University in 1992, where he wrote his doctoral thesis on a topic in Applied Mathematics, he spent more than 25 years in business consulting—15 thereof as partner of well-known international consulting firms. At Deloitte, his current work focuses on international transformation projects in the field of financial services, especially for insurances. He mostly works at the interface of business processes and information technology—thus, he takes great interest in topics such as Blockchain, analytics and digital transformation. The Blockchain is particularly fascinating to him: "It has the potential of affecting a lasting change in the world."

Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp has worked in IT since 1988. He studied electrical engineering, software ergonomics and medical engineering in Hanover, Aachen and Boston. Throughout his career, he held a wide variety of exciting positions, including as product manager at Dräger in medical IT, as CIO International of TÜV Product Service GmbH and as manager of the data centre at TÜV’s branch in Southern Germany. From 2000 to 2006, he was also a professor of Software Technology at the Academy of Media Arts (KHM) in Cologne. From 2005 until 2018, he was CIO of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR). Since May 1, 2018, he has been Principal of BwConsulting GmbH where he is in charge of all topics concerning IT management. The core issues of digitisation are clear to Hans-Joachim Popp: "Digitisation bears such an infinite potential for our economy and society that we need to urgently resolve the apparent contradiction between data protection and big data. And as a matter of fact, we can! However, to accompany this resolution, we need corresponding regulations that have already worked well in the analogue world." Popp is convinced that secure systems can only be established if the overall design process consistently considers the system as comprising man and machine.

Photo credit: German Aerospace Centre

Sascha Lobo is Germany's "Internet explainer". He works as author and strategy consultant with a focus on the internet and brand communication, and he gives lectures on the digital world, ranging from social media to digital work processes. Since January 2011, he has been writing the weekly column "Mensch-Maschine" (Man-Machine) on Spiegel Online and he has received several awards for the collaborative blog Riesenmaschine.de such as the Grimme Online Award in 2006. In times of extremely efficient, powerful machines and intense discussions about big data, he has established the concept of Magical Digitalism. With this concept, he ascribes "magical abilities to machines and algorithms." Lobo is convinced: Companies often start solving "the problems they want rather than the actually existing problems, owing to ignorance. In the realm of politics, Magical Digitalism tends to solve problems that only appear to exist, which is not only dangerous but also a gateway for influences of all kinds."

Photo credit: Reto Klar

Sascha Pallenberg, thus far known as one of the most popular German tech bloggers and as a digital entrepreneur, has been the Head of Digital Content in corporate communications at Daimler since the beginning of 2017. His blog netbooknews.de was nominated one of the best IT blogs by Computerwoche magazine in 2010. Like its current successor, MobileGeeks, the blog covered the latest developments in the mobile computing market. By the way, Pallenberg presents an example of the discussion about big data vs. data protection in an exciting self-experiment: With an RFID chip implanted in his left hand, he does not only open his apartment door in Taipei, he's also always got his business card right ‘at his fingertips’.

Dr. Dirk Siegel is a partner at Deloitte and head of the Deloitte Blockchain Institute. After he graduated from Cambridge University in 1992, where he wrote his doctoral thesis on a topic in Applied Mathematics, he spent more than 25 years in business consulting—15 thereof as partner of well-known international consulting firms. At Deloitte, his current work focuses on international transformation projects in the field of financial services, especially for insurances. He mostly works at the interface of business processes and information technology—thus, he takes great interest in topics such as Blockchain, analytics and digital transformation. The Blockchain is particularly fascinating to him: "It has the potential of affecting a lasting change in the world."

Moderator

Sven AstheimerJournalist (FAZ)

Sven Astheimer, FAZ (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung) business editor, reports on topics such as the labour market, migration and demography on a daily basis. In these times of digitisation, Astheimer regularly reports on changes in the working world, its challenges as well as Work 4.0. He is primarily concerned with a courageous commitment in politics that emphasizes the opportunities of digitisation rather than putting its risks front and centre. Astheimer is deeply engaged in economic policy and not least because of that he is the ideal candidate to carry out the task of savvy and critical moderation during this high-profile event.

Programme for 7 June 2018

15:45
Welcome speech

Nikolaus Reuter | CEO and Chairman of the Board, Etengo

Sven Astheimer | Business Editor (FAZ), moderator

16:00
Keynote speech: Sascha Lobo

16:30
Keynote speech: Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp

17:00
Break

17:30
Panel discussion

Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp | Sascha Lobo | Dr. Dirk Siegel | Sascha Pallenberg

Moderator: Sven Astheimer

18:00
Informal conclusion

Personal discussion, networking and light refreshments

20:00
End of the event

Place & Time

Thu, 7.6.201815:45 onwards

WIRSOL Rhein-Neckar-ArenaDietmar-Hopp-Straße 174889 Sinsheim

›I perceived the event at Etengo as really special because it is a great pleasure to speak to experts, and thus not having to explain each pixel individually (…)‹


Sascha Lobo (Speaker Etengo Symposium 2018)

›I would recommend participating in the symposium, simply to expand the scope of what is considered a normal, every-day matter.‹


Kai-Uwe Daum (Participant Etengo Symposium 2018)

›I like it when people are focused. When you single out a thematic block and discuss it with various experts, consolidate various perspectives and ultimately still have a controversial debate.‹ 


Sascha Pallenberg (Speaker Etengo Symposium 2018)

›Short, succinct lectures and appealing guest speakers!‹


Michael Dallmann (Participant Etengo Symposium 2018)

WHO SHOULD ATTEND

THE ETENGO SYMPOSIUM?

DAS ETENGO-SYMPOSIUM

ZUKUNFT DURCH IT

Das Etengo-Symposium ist eine hochkarätige Veranstaltungsreihe, die sich exklusiv an einen ausgewählten Kreis von Etengo-Kunden und Geschäftspartnern richtet.

Thematisch liegt der Fokus des Symposiums auf den Herausforderungen und Trends der Informationstechnologie.

Auf zwei spannende und inspirierende Impulsvorträge folgt eine professionell moderierte Podiumsdiskussion, die auch das Publikum aktiv mit einbezieht. Die Teilnehmer erhalten auf diese Weise spannende und wichtige Denkanstöße, welche den Blickwinkel auf ihr Fachgebiet weiten. Denn gemeinsam beleuchten und diskutieren wir, wie die Informationstechnologie heute und in Zukunft die Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Politik beeinflusst und welche Chancen und Herausforderungen sich daraus für Sie und Ihr Unternehmen ableiten lassen. 

Thema der letzten
Veranstaltung

BIG DATA VS. DATENSCHUTZ -

DIE QUADRATUR DES KREISES?

DAS THEMA DER LETZTEN VERANSTALTUNG

BIG DATA VS. DATENSCHUTZ -

DIE QUADRATUR DES KREISES?


Viele disruptive Geschäftsmodelle, etliche neue technologische Ansätze und nahezu alle innovativen Produkt- und Serviceangebote basieren auf der Erhebung, Speicherung und Auswertung großer Datenmengen. Ziel ist es, aus den Daten wertvolles Wissen abzuleiten und daraus wiederum Wertschöpfung zu generieren. Dazu werden die Daten meist dauerhaft gespeichert, oft mit anderen externen oder internen Datenbeständen verknüpft und damit im Zeitverlauf immer weiter angereichert und veredelt. Die Daten liefern Muster, dadurch entstehen z.B. Kundentypologien oder Vorhersagen welches Verhalten in Zukunft wie wahrscheinlich ist. Der gläserne Kunde, Mitarbeiter und Bürger ist die logische Folge dieser Entwicklungen.

Machine Learning, Künstliche Intelligenz, IoT, autonomes Fahren und Industrie 4.0 sind nur einige der großen IT-Themen. All diese Ansätze basieren im Kern jedoch auf Daten als Hartwährung der Zukunft. Demgegenüber steht eine deutlich verschärfte EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung sowie immer mehr Kunden und Verbraucher, welche die notorische Datensammelei kritisch sehen und wieder die Hoheit über ihre Daten zurückerlangen möchten. Ein Spannungsfeld das große Chancen, aber auch erhebliche Herausforderungen birgt.

Speaker

Dr. Hans Joachim PoppCIO des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp ist seit 1988 in der IT tätig. Er studierte Elektrotechnik, Software-Ergonomie und Medizintechnik in Hannover, Aachen und Boston. In seiner Karriere übernahm er verschiedenste spannende Positionen, u.a. als Product Manager bei Dräger in der Medizin-Informatik, als CIO international der TUV Product Service GmbH und als Rechenzentrumsleitung beim TÜV Süddeutschland. Nebenberuflich war er von 2000 bis 2006 Professor für Softwaretechnologie an der KHM in Köln. Von 2005 bis 2018 war er CIO des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt. Seit dem 1. Mai 2018 ist er Principal bei der BwConsulting GmbH und hier verantwortlich für das Themenfeld IT-Management. Für Hans-Joachim Popp ist klar: „Digitalisierung birgt so unendlich viel Potential für unsere Wirtschaft und damit für die Gesellschaft, dass wir den augenscheinlichen Widerspruch zwischen Datenschutz und Big Data dringend auflösen müssen. Das können wir auch! Begleitend brauchen wir aber entsprechende Regelungen, die schon in der analogen Welt gut funktioniert haben.“ Sichere Systeme, ist Popp überzeugt, können nur entstehen, wenn im Designprozess konsequent das Gesamtsystems aus Mensch und Computern betrachtet wird.

Foto Credit: Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt

Sascha LoboAutor und Strategieberater

Sascha Lobo ist Deutschlands „Internet-Erklärer“. Er arbeitet als Autor und Strategieberater mit den Schwerpunkten Internet und Markenkommunikation und hält Vorträge über die digitale Welt von Social Media bis zu digitalen Arbeitsprozessen. Seit Januar 2011 schreibt er die wöchentliche Kolumne “Mensch-Maschine” auf Spiegel Online und erhielt mehrere bedeutende Auszeichnungen für das Gemeinschaftsblog Riesenmaschine.de, wie z.B. 2006 den Grimme Online Award. In unserer Zeit von überaus leistungsfähigen, mächtigen Maschinen und heißen Diskussionen um Big Data prägt er den Begriff des magischen Digitalismus. Er meint damit, „der Maschine, dem Algorithmus magische Fähigkeiten zuzuschreiben.“ Lobo ist überzeugt: Unternehmen beginnen dann aus Unwissenheit damit „das Problem zu lösen, das man gern hätte - und nicht das tatsächliche. In der Politik führt magischer Digitalismus dazu, Scheinprobleme zu regulieren, was nicht nur gefährlich, sondern auch ein Einfallstor für Beeinflussungen aller Art ist.“

Foto Credit: Reto Klar

Sascha PallenbergHead of Digital Content bei Daimler & Tech-Blogger

Bisher einer der bekanntesten deutschen Tech-Blogger und als Digital-Unternehmer bekannt, ist Sascha Pallenberg seit Anfang 2017 als Head of Digital Content in der Unternehmenskommunikation von Daimler zu Hause. Sein Blog netbooknews.de  wurde 2010 von der Computerwoche zu einem der besten IT-Blogs gekürt und beschäftigte sich, wie auch sein aktueller Nachfolger MobileGeeks, mit den aktuellen Entwicklungen auf dem Mobile Computing Markt. Pallenberg selbst liefert übrigens im Selbstversuch ein spannendes Beispiel für die Diskussion um Big Data vs. Datenschutz: Mit dem in seiner linken Hand implantierten RFID-Chip öffnet er nicht nur seine Wohnungstür in Taipeh – auch seine digitale Visitenkarte hat er immer dabei.

Dr. Dirk SiegelPartner & Leiter Deloitte Blockchain Institute

Dr. Dirk Siegel ist Partner bei Deloitte und Leiter des Deloitte Blockchain Institute. Nachdem er 1992 an der Cambridge University über ein Thema der Angewandten Mathematik promovierte, verbrachte er über 25 Jahre in der Unternehmensberatung – 15 davon als Partner namhafter internationaler Beratungshäuser. Der Fokus seiner heutigen Arbeit bei Deloitte liegt auf internationalen Transformationsprojekten im Bereich Financial Services – vor allem für Versicherungen. Er arbeitet meist an der Schnittstelle von Geschäftsprozessen und Informationstechnologie – sein besonderes Interesse gilt daher Themen wie Blockchain, Analytics und Digitale Transformation. Die besondere Faszination an der Blockchain für ihn: „Sie hat das Potential, die Welt nachhaltig zu verändern.“

Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp ist seit 1988 in der IT tätig. Er studierte Elektrotechnik, Software-Ergonomie und Medizintechnik in Hannover, Aachen und Boston. In seiner Karriere übernahm er verschiedenste spannende Positionen, u.a. als Product Manager bei Dräger in der Medizin-Informatik, als CIO international der TUV Product Service GmbH und als Rechenzentrumsleitung beim TÜV Süddeutschland. Nebenberuflich war er von 2000 bis 2006 Professor für Softwaretechnologie an der KHM in Köln. Von 2005 bis 2018 war er CIO des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt. Seit dem 1. Mai 2018 ist er Principal bei der BwConsulting GmbH und hier verantwortlich für das Themenfeld IT-Management. Für Hans-Joachim Popp ist klar: „Digitalisierung birgt so unendlich viel Potential für unsere Wirtschaft und damit für die Gesellschaft, dass wir den augenscheinlichen Widerspruch zwischen Datenschutz und Big Data dringend auflösen müssen. Das können wir auch! Begleitend brauchen wir aber entsprechende Regelungen, die schon in der analogen Welt gut funktioniert haben.“ Sichere Systeme, ist Popp überzeugt, können nur entstehen, wenn im Designprozess konsequent das Gesamtsystems aus Mensch und Computern betrachtet wird.

Foto Credit: Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt

Sascha Lobo ist Deutschlands „Internet-Erklärer“. Er arbeitet als Autor und Strategieberater mit den Schwerpunkten Internet und Markenkommunikation und hält Vorträge über die digitale Welt von Social Media bis zu digitalen Arbeitsprozessen. Seit Januar 2011 schreibt er die wöchentliche Kolumne “Mensch-Maschine” auf Spiegel Online und erhielt mehrere bedeutende Auszeichnungen für das Gemeinschaftsblog Riesenmaschine.de, wie z.B. 2006 den Grimme Online Award. In unserer Zeit von überaus leistungsfähigen, mächtigen Maschinen und heißen Diskussionen um Big Data prägt er den Begriff des magischen Digitalismus. Er meint damit, „der Maschine, dem Algorithmus magische Fähigkeiten zuzuschreiben.“ Lobo ist überzeugt: Unternehmen beginnen dann aus Unwissenheit damit „das Problem zu lösen, das man gern hätte - und nicht das tatsächliche. In der Politik führt magischer Digitalismus dazu, Scheinprobleme zu regulieren, was nicht nur gefährlich, sondern auch ein Einfallstor für Beeinflussungen aller Art ist.“

Foto Credit: Reto Klar

Bisher einer der bekanntesten deutschen Tech-Blogger und als Digital-Unternehmer bekannt, ist Sascha Pallenberg seit Anfang 2017 als Head of Digital Content in der Unternehmenskommunikation von Daimler zu Hause. Sein Blog netbooknews.de wurde 2010 von der Computerwoche zu einem der besten IT-Blogs gekürt und beschäftigte sich, wie auch sein aktueller Nachfolger MobileGeeks, mit den aktuellen Entwicklungen auf dem Mobile Computing Markt. Pallenberg selbst liefert übrigens im Selbstversuch ein spannendes Beispiel für die Diskussion um Big Data vs. Datenschutz: Mit dem in seiner linken Hand implantierten RFID-Chip öffnet er nicht nur seine Wohnungstür in Taipeh – auch seine digitale Visitenkarte hat er immer dabei.

Dr. Dirk Siegel ist Partner bei Deloitte und Leiter des Deloitte Blockchain Institute. Nachdem er 1992 an der Cambridge University über ein Thema der Angewandten Mathematik promovierte, verbrachte er über 25 Jahre in der Unternehmensberatung – 15 davon als Partner namhafter internationaler Beratungshäuser. Der Fokus seiner heutigen Arbeit bei Deloitte liegt auf internationalen Transformationsprojekten im Bereich Financial Services – vor allem für Versicherungen. Er arbeitet meist an der Schnittstelle von Geschäftsprozessen und Informationstechnologie – sein besonderes Interesse gilt daher Themen wie Blockchain, Analytics und Digitale Transformation. Die besondere Faszination an der Blockchain für ihn: „Sie hat das Potential, die Welt nachhaltig zu verändern.“

Moderation

Sven AstheimerJournalist (FAZ)

Als Wirtschaftsredakteur der FAZ mit den Schwerpunktthemen Arbeitsmarkt, Migration und Demographie, berichtet Sven Astheimer täglich über aktuelles Zeitgeschehen. Angesichts der Digitalisierung berichtet Astheimer regelmäßig über den Wandel in der Arbeitswelt, dessen Herausforderungen und die Arbeit 4.0. Wichtig ist ihm dabei auch ein mutiges Bekenntnis der Politik, welches die Chancen der Digitalisierung betont, anstatt die Risiken in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen. Astheimer ist tief in der Wirtschaftspolitik verhaftet und nicht zuletzt aus diesem Grund die ideale Besetzung des versierten und kritischen Moderators dieser hochkarätigen Veranstaltung.

Programm vom 7. Juni 2018

15.45 Uhr
Begrüßung

Nikolaus Reuter | CEO & Vorstandsvorsitzender Etengo

Sven Astheimer | Wirtschaftsredakteur FAZ, Moderation

16.00 Uhr
Impulsvortrag Sascha Lobo

16.30 Uhr
Impulsvortrag Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp

17.00 Uhr
Pause

17.30 Uhr
Podiumsdiskussion

Dr. Hans-Joachim Popp | Sascha Lobo | Dr. Dirk Siegel | Sascha Pallenberg

Moderation: Sven Astheimer

18.00 Uhr
Zwangloser Ausklang

Persönlicher Austausch, Netzwerken, Fingerfood & Getränke

20.00 Uhr
Ende der Veranstaltung

Ort & Zeit

Do, 7.6.2018ab 15.45 Uhr

WIRSOL Rhein-Neckar-ArenaDietmar-Hopp-Straße 174889 Sinsheim

›Die Veranstaltung bei Etengo habe ich als besonders wahrgenommen, weil es eine große Freude ist vor Fachleuten zu sprechen. Wenn man also nicht jeden Pixel einzeln erklären muss (…)‹


Sascha Lobo (Speaker Etengo-Symposium 2018)

›Ich würde die Teilnahme am Symposium empfehlen, einfach um den Scope vom Normalen, Alltäglichen ein bisschen größer zu ziehen.‹


Kai-Uwe Daum (Teilnehmer Etengo-Symposium 2018)

›Ich mag es wenn man fokussiert ist. Wenn man sich einen Themenblock vornimmt, den mit verschiedenen Experten diskutiert, die verschiedenen Perspektiven zusammenholt und dann final noch eine kontroverse Debatte führen kann.‹ 


Sascha Pallenberg (Speaker beim Etengo-Symposium 2018)

›Kurze, knackige Vorträge und ansprechende Gastredner!‹


Michael Dallmann (Teilnehmer Etengo-Symposium 2018)

AN WEN RICHTET SICH DAS

ETENGO-SYMPOSIUM?